Windows 10 upgrades will cost £85 from July 30th

Microsoft To Charge £85 For Windows Upgrade

Microsoft is reminding everyone today that the free promotion for Windows 10 upgrades is finishing soon. The software maker first released Windows 10 as a free upgrade for Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 machines on July 29th last year, giving everyone a year to upgrade at no cost. Many had assumed Microsoft would keep the free upgrade rolling past the year cut off, but it appears the company is sticking to its original promise.

In an announcement of 300 million Windows 10 users, Microsoft has started driving awareness of the July 29th date. “Time is running out,” says Yusuf Mehdi, who heads up Microsoft’s Windows and devices marketing efforts. “The free upgrade offer will end on July 29th and we want to make sure you don’t miss out.” After July 29th, Microsoft says you’ll need to purchase a full version of Windows 10 Home for $119 (£85-ish) or get Windows 10 on a new machine.

[fve]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVo9Vdpk23g[/fve]

Windows 10 has proved popular, especially with 300 million machines now running it, but the company wants one billion devices using the software within the next two years. Reminding people that they only have two months left to upgrade free of charge is one way of driving upgrade numbers, but opting to extend the promotion could also have similar results. It’s hardly surprising that Microsoft is sticking to its original plans, but there’s still time left for the company to change its mind.

Source: The Windows Blog

Microsoft Changes Priority Of Windows 10

Microsoft has changed the Windows 10 upgrade from optional to recommended

This might not seem a big difference but it is to your computer.

If you have Windows set to automatically install updates then it will do this for security, critical and recommended updates but leave the optional ones out for you to manually go in and do yourself.  So by Microsoft changing this priority, there is a good chance your computer could now install Windows 10 without asking you.

For most users this will be either something they were thinking about, an inconvenience or more worryingly it will prevent some of their programs running and cause their business to grind to a halt.

The good news is that if it did install automatically on your computer and you didn’t want it to – this can be undone.

If you require help with this then please get in touch here.